Skip to main content

APM Qualifications Compared


APM now offers three main examination-based qualifications in project management:

  • APM Project Fundamentals Qualification (PFQ) - formerly known as the Introductory Certificate
  • APM Project Management Qualification (PMQ) - formerly known as APMP
  • APM Project Professional Qualification (PPQ)

and one competence-based qualification in project management:

  • APM Practitioner Qualification (PQ) - in response to a change in IPMA regulations APM will cease to award PQ in March 2019 and is no longer accepting new applications.

Note that PPQ and PQ are both Recognised Assessments for technical knowledge when applying via Route 1 for the APM Chartered Standard (ChPP) .  This is a simplified route to achieving ChPP


APM Qualifications compared

Qualification PFQ PMQ PPQ PQ
Original Title Introductory Certificate APMP - Practitioner
SCQF level 6 7
IPMA level C
Prior project management experience None Some - but not essential 3 to  5 years typically, plus PMQ or equivalent 3 years plus PMQ or understanding
Number of examinations 1 1 4 Residential assessment
Total cost of APM examination non-member fees £135 (online) + VAT £395 + VAT £1496 + VAT
Type of examination Online Written Written Individual work, Group work and Interview
Length of examination (hrs) 1 3 3
Pass mark 60% 55% 60%
What does the assessment test? Knowledge Knowledge and understanding Knowledge and its application

Capability to manage a non complex project

Type of questions Multiple choice Essay type Scenario based Case study based
Questions to be answered/on the paper 60/60 10/16 4/4
Membership level attained from award Associate Associate Full Full